Who we are

Home > ϱ > Who we are
Our board

The board of ϱ Archdiocese Catholic Schools (MACS) was established in 2020 by Archbishop of ϱ Peter A Comensoli.

The MACS board is responsible for ensuring the organisation meets all fiduciary and strategic requirements, and that operations are aligned with our mission and purpose in fulfilment of ecclesial, legal and statutory obligations. The board holds the Executive Director and Executive Leadership Team accountable for the management and delivery of our objectives and implementation of policies.

Archbishop Peter A Comensoli appoints the members of the board. The members are:

Gerard Dalbosco, Chair
Róisín Annesley KC
Professor Greg Craven AO GCSG
Rev Michael Gallacher JCL
Carolyn Ireland
Geraldine Leslie
John McLindon
Lucinda Nolan APM
Dr Margaret O’Donnell OAM
Tim O’Leary
Executive Director

Dr Edward Simons has been appointed by the Board and endorsed by Archbishop Peter A Comensoli to be Executive Director of ϱ Archdiocese Catholic Schools (MACS) and Executive Director of Education for the Archdiocese of ϱ.

Edward is highly experienced with over twenty years working in the education sector in the UK and Australia across a variety of roles, including as a teacher, principal, and as principal policy advisor to a Minister for Education.

He has a Doctorate of Education from the University of Western Australia, and is a graduate of two Australian Institute of Company Directors courses as well as the High Potentials Leadership Course at Harvard University Business School.

With a strong commitment to his Catholic faith, Dr Simons is an active member of his Parish, along with his young family. As a proud MACS parent, Dr Simons is committed to serving and walking alongside our schools to fulfill our mission to form lives of faith, hope and love in the light of Jesus Christ.

Organisational structure

Senior Staff Org Structure